Thursday, November 6, 2014

Graha Sambandha or Planetary Relationship In Vedic Jyotish

Graha Sambandha or Planetary relationship is the striking feature of Vedic Jyotish and it is somewhat similar to the concept of Aspect of Western Astrology. Without knowing and applying this unique concept of planetary relationship in the judgement of any horoscope it is very difficult to predict.

A careful reading of Brihit Prashara Hora Shaastra reveals that this Graha Sambandha can be categorized into two major parts 1. Major Graha Sambandh & 2. Minor Graha Sambandh and they are discussed below: 

Part (A)
1. Major Graha Sambandh

(1)  In ancient texts on Vedic Jyotish four types of major Graha Sambandhs or major planetary relationship have been given and they are described below:

(2)  Kshetra Sambandh: This is the strongest relationship between two planets and it is result givng combination. When two planets exchanges their signs e.g. Sun occupying Mesh rashi ruled by Mars and Mars occupying Simh rashi ruled by Sun. It said to be the strongest and result giving good or bad yoga between Sun & Mars. Any student native of Mesh Lagna having this combination gets success in education and any native of Kanya Lagna having this combination suffers from misfortunes as here it becomes Dainey yoga or he gets success in occult if this combination is present in his Vinshansh Chart (D20) with Vrish as his Vinshansh Lagna (D20).  

(2.1)Every learner and researcher should note that this Kshestra Sanbandh is further divided into two more parts 1. Two planets exchange their Nakshatra e.g. Sun occupying Swati Nakshatra ruled by Rahu and Rahu occupying Kritika Nakshatra ruled by Sun & 2. Any planet occupying its own sign in conjunction with other planet. Here it should be noted though it is a Yuti Sambandha or Conjunction but it becomes strongest and is taken into Kshetra Sambandh because a rashi or sign is also known as Kshetra in Vedic Jyotish.

(2.2) Thus Kshetra Sambandha is divided into three parts (1) Exchange of Sign between two planets (2) Exchange of Nakshatra between two planets & (3) Conjunction of two planets in a sign with either of the planet as a lord of that sign. If a maximum of 60 units as numeric strength is allotted to the Graha Sambandha then this Kshetra Sambandha gets 60 units as its numeric strength.

(3) Dristi Sambandh or Mutual Aspect: When minimum two planets aspect each other then they are said to be in Dristi Sambandha in Vedic Jyotish and it is possible when two planets has a difference of six signs from each others. Moon occupying Kark rashi & Mars occupying Makar rashi are said to be in mutual aspect. In Western Astrology this type of Dristi Sambandh is known as The Opposition Aspect and it is supposed to enhance clashes and tensions as per Western Astrology but in Vedic astrology it may also result in Rajyoga or a malefic yoga depending upon the overall structure of horoscope. This Dristi Sambandh gets 45 units of strength out of 60 units of strength.

(3) Adhisthisth Rashish Dristi Sambandh: When any planet occupying any sign receives an aspect from the lord of that sign but both of these planets should not be in mutual aspect then it is Adhisthisth Rashish Dristi Sambandh between two planets. Sun occupying Mesh rashi and ruler of Mesh rashi i.e. Mars occupying Makar rashi in any horoscope are said to be in Adhisthisth Rashish Dristi Sambandh. But Sun in Mesh and Mars in Tula rashi also indicate this combination but here everyone should note they are in mutual aspect. Saturn in Mesh rashi and Mars in Makar rashi also display this combination but here too it should be noted that under such condition Mars & Saturn exchange their signs and it will be Kshetra Sambandha. This Adhisthisth Rashish Dristi Sambandh gets 30 units of numeric strength out of 60 units.

(4) Yuti Sambandh or Conjunction: When two planets occupy a single sign then it is a Yuti Sambandha or conjunction. Here everyone should note planets occupying two different sign but in a single Nakshatra are also as effective as Yuti Sambandha e.g Moon occupying 28O of Mithuna & Jupiter occupying 01O of Cancer occupy different signs but in Pushys Nakshatra may also be treated in Yuti. So Yuti Sambandha of planets can be divided into three types (1) Rashi Yuti of Planets, (2) Nakshatra Yuti of Planets & (3) Ansha Yuti of Planets i.e. conjunction of planets in Divisional Charts such as Navansh Chart, Dashmansh Chart etc. A numeric strength of 15 units out of 60 units can be given to this Yuti Sambandh or Conjunction.

(5)  The aforesaid four major Graha Sambandha are useful to judge any horoscope in depth and various dashas are applied for their timings of fructifications and they are applicable to Antardasha of Planets forming Graha Sambandha up to some extent.

Part (B)
2. Minor Graha Sambandh

(1)         Besides the aforesaid Graha Sambandha there are five minor Graha Sambandha hinted in Brihit Prashara Hora Shaastra and they are 1.Kendra Sambandha 2. Trikona Sambandha 3. Tre-ekadash Sambandha 4. Dwedwadash Sambandha & 5. Shatastaka Sambandha. These Graha Sambandha display their results in the dasha of a planet forming Graha Sambandh in the Antardasha of other planet forming that Graha Sambandha. These types of Graha Sambandh are applied in Vinshottridasha up to a greater extant only. They are very useful and they are given below:

(2)         Kendra Sambandh:  When one Planet A is disposed 1st, 4th, 7th or 10th house from other Planet B then in the Dasha of Planet B the Antardasha of Planet A will display good results but if it is disposed in 7th house from dasha lord and Planet A is found under malefic influence then there will be adverse results and in Western Astrology this is known as the opposition aspect giving rise to clashes & tensions. In Western Astrology (1) Single house disposition of two planets is termed as conjunction and it stands for focalising of energy, the disposition of Planet A in 4thor 10th house from Planet B is known as Square Aspect in Western Astrology and it is supposed to enhance challenging developments.   

(3)         Trikona Sambandha: Under aforesaid conditions as described in (2) of Part (B) if Planet A is disposed in 5th or 9th houses from the Dasha Lord Planet B then in the Antardasha of Planet A benefice results will occur and in Western Astrology this Trikona Sambandha of Vedic Jyotisha is termed as Triangular Aspect and it is supposed to be supportive one.

(4)         Tre-ekadasha Sambandhs: When aforesaid Planet A is disposed in 3rd or 11th house from the Planet B whose Mahadasha is going on and in the Antardasha of Planet A there will be some benefice results. In Sextile Aspect described in Western Astrology comes under this Triekadasha Sambandha of Vedic Jyotisha. In Western Astrology it is a supportive aspect.

(5)         Dwedwadash Sambandh: When in aforesaid condition Planet A is disposed in 2nd or 12th house from Dasha Lord Planet A then in its Antardasha in within the Dasha of Planet B will give adverse results. The Semi-Sextile aspect described in Western Astrology comes within Dwedwash Sambandha of Vedic Jyotish. In Western Astrology it is supposed to be somewhat favourable aspect.

(6)         Shastaka Sambandha: Under above condition if Planet A is disposed in 6th or 8th house from Dasha Lord Planet B then within this Dasha of Planet B and in tha Antardasha of Planet A there will be miseries and other unfavourable results. The Quincunx Aspect described in Western Astrology comes within Shastaka Sambandha of Vedic Jyotish and in Western Astrology this is supposed to be stress giving aspect.

Written by
Vishal Aksh